top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMargarita Oja

It's about giving

For the whole summer I got no salary. Instead I got:


1. Two older brothers- Alberto, 32 years old, a physiotherapist that wanted to take me everywhere and try cool things on me, acupuncture for instance. And Nobre, 24 years old, a former psychlogy student, from who I got advise in every aspect of life and who lightened me with his ideas.


Alberto

Nobre

2. Two younger brothers- Benjamin, 8 years old, who slowly opened up and showed me how small things can bring so much happiness. And 2-year-old Perdo, a Mickey Mouse fan with big eyes and a cute smile. Pedro was my weakness. There is so much love in this small human being. He is full of love, kindness and pureness. If every one of us would have such a big heart as this little kid, a world would be such a better place. I learned so much from these happy bubbles.




3. Grandmother, the one who always worried that I’d have enough food. Made sure that there would be hot coffee waiting for us after surfing. The one who didn’t speak a word in English but always smiled and took care of me as I was one of her grandkids.




4. Susanne, a friend, a volunteer, an aiesecer, who believes this generation will make a great change in this world. A commited and passionate person, who makes sure that her actions make a positive change. There is so much eagerness in this girl, that it motivates everyone around her to be the bestest version of themself.



5. Five groups of elderly people from the physiotherapy centre. Their appreciation is indescribable. Giving yoga classes to them warmed my heart. Such a simple thing for me- meant the world to them. I didn't get a cent for all the hours I spent there, but I got something much more important. I got warm, tight hugs, a million kisses, a zillion smiles, I got to share my passion for yoga and well, I got some good cookies and cakes made with love.




6. Students in the English class who were motivated, hardworking and committed and willing to come study even it was their school holiday! Teaching a language without knowing any Portuguese can be quite challenging. That’s were creativity and open-mindedness kicks in to keep the classes fun, exciting, fresh and interesting.



7. A group of people I am proud to call my friends. Quality time with them makes me think that for me it is quality over quantity. Evening at the beach, listening to the waves, red wine, acoustic guitar and beautiful vocals, light breeze of wind. Or a pizza & movie night. Such caring and genuine people.



8. My very own surfing shirt (!)



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Left

6/6

bottom of page